Telling empowering stories, South Africans want to hear

Saturday, 18 May 2024 10:40

IEC extends hours in London as voting kicks off to a smooth start.

By Lehlohonolo Lehana.

The Independent Electoral Commission of South Africa (IEC) announced it has extended voting hours in London, from 07:00 to 21:00 (local time).

The IEC confirmed that 24 535 voters registered to cast their vote at the High Commission. 

"The voting will open at 07:00 and the stations will remain open until 21:00 in the evening. The only variation will be in the London mission, which is the largest voting station, both in the country and overseas, says Chief Electoral Officer Sy Mamabolo.

"We are pleased that South Africans living abroad have heeded the call to vote, and we encourage those voters whose places of voting are open today to vote before the close of voting at 19:00 (local time in the territory).

A media statement issued by the IEC says 102 missions, with a workweek from Monday to Friday, will vote today from 07:00 to 19:00.

"Due to the large voter population, the commission determined two days of special voting for London."

South Africans in London will be able to vote on Saturday, May 18, and Sunday, May 19, from 07:00 to 21:00.

"The additional voting day and extended voting hours are intended to enable proper arrangements for the 24 535 voters entitled to vote at the mission," reads the statement.

The IEC urged those living in London not to leave voting to the last day.

"On Saturday, the entire Duncannon Street will be closed off to traffic, and stanchions will be erected to facilitate large-scale queuing," said Mamabolo.

The IEC also extended voting hours at the missions in Washington DC and New York on Saturday, May 18. The voting hours are 07:00 to 21:00.

Furthermore, any voter who has a VEC 10 confirmation with a date of May 17 or 18 will be allowed to vote when they arrive at voting stations today.

Mamabolo added, by law, South Africans abroad and those voting outside of their provinces of registration, will only vote on the national compensatory ballot.

"The 2024 national compensatory ballot has 52 political parties arranged in two columns. Voters are reminded to make a mark against a single party on the ballot."