Telling empowering stories, South Africans want to hear

Sunday, 07 May 2023 09:37

Metro FM Awards 2023: AKA biggest winner with four awards.

By Lehlohonolo Lehana.


The late Kiernan "AKA" Forbes posthumously was the biggest winner with four awards in the Artist of the Year, Best Collaboration Song, Best Hip Hop Artist and Best Male Artist categories, at the 2023 Metro FM Awards (MMAs).

Forbes, was shot and killed in a drive-by shooting in Durban three months ago.

The awards were held at Mbombela Stadium in Mpumalanga. Themed 'Black is Back', and were hosted by Lerato Kganyago and Katlego Maboe.

His family was excited by the win, though still mourning their son.

"Kiernan, you make us so proud. You were in this very same city in 2011 for your first Metro FM awards. To the family friends and everybody that's been there to support Kiernan, thank you so much."

The daughter of the deceased sang her dad's song on stage, while the grandparents appreciated the organization and the people's support.

DJ Tira and Deep London followed with two wins apiece for Best Kwaito/Gqom Song, Best Music Video, Best Amapiano Song and Best Viral Challenge.

Other winners in different categories include Makhadzi, Musa Keys, Ndunduzo Makhathini and Betusile Mcinga, among others.

In an event that comprised of beautiful performances, KO's highly nominated song Sete failed to win anything.

The singer could not even pick a single award in his own province. Nasty C, Bethusile, Sjava and Big Zulu were among the artists who killed it.

Legendary artist Dr. Esther Mahlangu was awarded the Metro FM Lifetime Achievement Award.

Below is the full list of winners:

Song of the Year

  • Betusile Mcinga – 'Ngena Noah'

Best Afrosoul Pop

  • Zuko SA – 'Andikalibali'

Best Amapiano Song

  • Deep London – 'Hamba Wena'

Artist of the Year

  • AKA – 'Lemons (Lemonade)'

Best Jazz Album

  • Nduduzo Makhathini – In the Spirit of Ntu

Best New Age R&B Artist

  • MOE. – 'Me Ever After'

Best Collaboration Song

  • AKA ft. Nasty C – 'Lemons (Lemonade)'

Best Duo or Group

  • Inkabi Nation – 'Voice Mail'

Best Female Artist

  • Makhadzi – 'African Queen 2.0'

Best Gospel Album

  • Pastor Lungi Ndala – Victorious Praise

Best Hip Hop Artist

  • AKA – 'Mass Country'

Best House Song

  • Skye Wanda – 'Amazwi'

Best Kwaito/Gqom Song

  • DJ Tira – 'Sikilidi'

Best Male Artist

  • AKA – 'Lemons (Lemonade)'

New Artist

  • COCOSA – 'I Never Thought'

Styled Artist

  • Musa Keys

Best Music Video

  • DJ Tira – 'Sikilidi'

Best Viral Challenge

  • Deep London ft. Boole – 'Hamba Wena'.