Telling empowering stories, South Africans want to hear

Friday, 15 March 2024 19:10

Metrofm announces new lineup, LootLove returns and Mtirara joins love movement.

By Lehlohonolo Lehana.

Image: Instagram/@lootlove2.

South Africa's largest commercial radio station Metrofm has officially announced its new lineup for 2024/2025, which sees the return of Luthando "Lootlove" Shosha and Rorisang Thandekiso to the station.

Sosha joins Tbo Touch to host the afternoon drive show, The Touch Down.

It has been a while since Shosha was on the airwaves, she hosted Apple Music's Africa Now Radio, from 2021 up until actress and musician Nandi Madida took over in 2023.

She has hosted shows such as 'Trending SA' and 'Battle of Ankara'.

Thandekiso will be hosting a show called 'Command your day weekday mornings from 5am to 6am.

The power of social media, Thandekiso has garnered quite a reputation on social media for her Instagram Lives, which are centred around the bible and motivating the youth.

Kina Nhlengethwa, Metro FM Business Manager said: "We have amplified the current line-up and are supporting the growth of weekend shows with exciting changes.

"Our 2024 offering will ensure that the station remains relatable and inspirational to listeners who are constantly seeking inspiration for growth and progression."

Another fresh voice added to the station is the Durbanite Zola Myeza, who joins Somizi Mhlongo on the 6 to 9am slot for the 'The Weekend Breakfast Sounds Good'.

In addition to the line-up changes, the station is launching a new show that focuses on music and urban lifestyle. It will be presented by Quinton "Naked DJ" Masina and a new addition to the station, Thato Immaculate on Saturdays from 6 to 9pm.

Seasoned broadcaster Paul Mtirara joins The Sunday Love Movement to present 'The Chill Factor' between 12 to 3pm.

"Sunday Soul Therapy" with Msizi Shembe moves to the 9pm – 12am slot, and will focus on urban jazz, classic, soul and R&B music.

The station bids farewell to veteran broadcaster Nothemba Madumo, Oscar "Oskido" Mdlongwa, Siya Mhlongo, and Sphe "SPHEctacula" Ngwenya, following their contributions over the years.