Telling empowering stories, South Africans want to hear

Monday, 30 August 2021 12:02

Mthethwa congratulates SA team for winning medals at Tokyo Paralympics 2020.

Staff Reporter.

Minister of Sport, Arts and Culture, Nathi Mthethwa, has congratulated team South Africa for winning three medals so far at the Tokyo Paralympics 2020.

Athletes Anrune Weyers and Ntando Mahlangu emerged as the first pair to collect gold medals out of the 38 athletes who are currently representing South Africa at the 2020 Tokyo Paralympics.

"We are extremely proud of Team South Africa and what they have achieved so far at the Paralympics. This is a clear indication that there are no limits when you set your mind to something. We believed they could and they did. Furthermore, we will continue to support them on their ongoing journey," the Minister said.

Competing in the T47, 400m Women's Race Weyers emerged victorious and finished first by clocking 56.05 defeating Liesbli Marina Andrade (Venezuela) and Anastasia Solovieva (Russia), coming second and third respectively.

In the men’s 200m T61 sprint, Mahlangu was able to collect gold and broke his previously self-set world record after finishing. First clocking 7.17.

He was then followed by both Leon Schafer (Germany) and Daniel Wagner (Denmark) who finished second and third respectively.

"Mahlangu’s victory is equally accompanied by the self-set world record which was long overdue. His self-set path emerged when he was only 14, after winning a silver medal in the men’s 200m at the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio. In 2017, he won a silver medal in the men’s 200m at the World Championships. Two years later, he was a world champion. This year, he set a world record," the Department of Sport, Arts and Culture said.

Visually impaired athlete Louzanne Coetzee won silver in the T11 1500m, setting the new African record.

Coetzee finished second behind Mexico's Monica Rodriguez Saavedra (4:37.40) and clocked 4min 40.96 seconds.

"I have been competing for eight years and this is my first medal. I am overwhelmed. I couldn’t have asked for a better race, a better guide, better preparation. I’m very thankful for how things went down," Coetzee said.

The Minister said he was excited to see the athletes putting all efforts to increase the medal tally.

"We are watching very closely what is happening at the Tokyo Paralympics and we are excited to see that the athletes are putting all efforts to increase our medal tally. We wish them success and we are looking forward to celebrating more of such achievements," the Minister said on Monday. 

Meanwhile President Cyril Ramaphosa made a surprise call to Team South Africa on Monday.

Ramaphosa congratulated gold medallists Ntando Mahlangu, Anrune Weyers and silver medallist Louzanne Coetzee.

The rest of Team SA Results:


Men’s Individual 1/8 elimination: Shaun Anderson lost to Helcio Luiz of Brazil, in a shootout (6-9) after the scores had been locked at 123-123 after five sets.


Women’s 1500m (T11), final: Louzanne Coetzee (guide Estean Badenhorst) took silver in a new African record 4:40.96.

Men’s 400m (T38), heats: Dyan Buis, the defending champion from Rio 2016, ran a season’s best 51.29sec and won his heat and qualifying for the final.

Men’s 100m (T64), final: Mpumelelo Mhlongo finished 5th in a new Paralympic record 11.03 (T44). Gold went to Germany’s Felix Streng in 10.76 Mhlongo holds the WR in the T44 category with 11.00.

Men’s 100m (T63), final: Puseletso Mabote finished 7th in 12.66sec. The winner Anton Prokhorov set a new WR 12.04.

Dressage Individual Freestyle Test (Grade IV): Philippa Johnson-Dwyer finished eighth on Just In Time with 71,155 points.


Wheelchair tennis – Women’s singles, 2nd round: No6 seed Kgothatso Montjane lost to China’s Ziying Wang 6-2, 6-3 in 1hr15min at Ariake Tennis Court.