Wednesday, 30 October 2019 08:26

Three countries are represented in the nominees for the World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year 2019 award in association with Tudor.

The nominees for this prestigious award, now in its fifth year, are Joe Cokanasiga (England), Herschel Jantjies (South Africa) and Romain Ntamack (France). 

To be eligible for this award, players must have played less than one year of senior international rugby, with former internationals Jamie Heaslip, Felipe Contepomi and Rugby World Cup winners Fiao’o Faamausili and Bryan Habana on the panel that selects the shortlist.

The winner will be revealed at the World Rugby Awards, which take place at The Prince Park Tower in Tokyo, Japan, on 3 November. 

Previous World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year Award winners: 

2018 – Aphiwe Dyantyi (South Africa)
2017 – Rieko Ioane (New Zealand)
2016 – Maro Itoje (England)
2015 – Nehe Milner-Skudder (New Zealand)