Saturday, 14 August 2021 19:12

Springboks cruise to comfortable win over sloppy Argentina in Rugby Championship.

Staff Reporter.

New Zealand began the Rugby Championship with a record victory against Australia to claim the Bledisloe Cup, while South Africa beat Argentina in their opener.

The All Blacks' 57-22 win at Eden Park was their highest ever points tally against the Wallabies.

Later on Saturday, world champions South Africa defeated Argentina 32-12 in Port Elizabeth.

New Zealand ran in eight tries to seal a 19th straight Bledisloe Cup win.

Their match doubled as the second in a three-Test series against Australia, who have not beaten the All Blacks at Eden Park since 1986.

The Wallabies - who lost 33-25 in the Bledisloe Cup opener on 7 August - were six points behind at half-time but a flurry of second-half scores sealed New Zealand's bonus-point win in a fast-paced, exciting encounter.

New Zealand won a Tri-Nations event against Australia and Argentina in 2020, with South Africa absent because of a lack of playing time during the pandemic.

In contrast to the All Blacks' display of running rugby, 17 of the Springboks' 32 points were scored from the tee by fly-half Elton Jantjies.

South Africa made sweeping changes to their team after the previous week's Test series win against the British and Irish Lions, with only five of those who started against the tourists in the XV to face Argentina.

The hosts still claimed a comfortable victory, narrowly missing out on a bonus point after scoring three tries.

Scrum-half Cobus Reinach covered most of the pitch in an impressive solo effort, wing Aphelele Fassi claimed Jantjies' cross-field kick to score and debutant Jaden Hendrikse also crossed just before full-time.

South Africa: Willemse; Nkosi, Kriel, F Steyn, Fassi; Jantjies, Reinach; Nche, Dweba, Louw, Etzebeth, De Jager, Kolisi, Smith, Wiese.

Replacements: Marx, Nyakane, Koch, Orie, Van Staden, Du Preez, Hendrikse, M Steyn.

Argentina: Carreras; Delguy, Chocobares, De La Fuente, Moroni; Sanchez, Ezcurra; Tetaz Chaparro, Montoya, Gomez Kodela, Petti, Kremer, Matera, Isa, Bruni.

Replacements: Bosch, Muzzio, Medrano, Lavanini, Alemanno, Bertranou, Miotti, Cancelliere.