Wednesday, 15 September 2021 13:34

Orie, Nyakane start as Springboks tweak pack for second test.

Staff Reporter

Springbok coach Jacques Nienaber has again opted for a six-two split of forwards and backs on the bench where Marco van Staden, Kwagga Smith and Jasper Wiese will again serve as loose-forward cover.

The coach made three changes to his match-day squad - one of which was injury enforced - as the Boks aim to bounce back from last weekend's 28-26 defeat to the Wallabies.

In the two personnel changes in the starting line-up, Marvin Orie takes over at lock from Lood de Jager, who has started his concussion return to play protocol, and Trevor Nyakane was named at loosehead prop, with Steven Kitshoff named amongst the replacements in place of Ox Nche.

Nyakane, who boasts 48 Test caps, and Orie last ran out for the Springboks in the team's second Test against Argentina in Nelson Mandela Bay a little over three weeks ago - and with the set pieces and contact points expected to be key areas of the game, they will look to make their presence felt.

Nienaber again opted for a six-two split of forwards on the bench where Marco van Staden, Kwagga Smith and Jasper Wiese will add impetus along with the front row of Kitshoff, Malcolm Marx and Vincent Koch, while Herschel Jantjies and Damian Willemse will provide cover in the backline.

"This is an experienced group of players who knows what it takes to deliver under pressure, and we all know what we need to do to bounce back from last week’s defeat," said Nienaber.

"Trevor is a Rugby World Cup winning prop and his experience, as well as Steven’s experience off the bench, will be valuable against the Wallabies, who place a big emphasis on the scrums, much like we do.

"Marvin has also been in our system for a while. He has been working hard at training, and this will be another great opportunity for him."

The match kicks off 9.05am SA time on Saturday.

Springbok Squad:

Willie le Roux, Sbu Nkosi, Lukhanyo Am, Damian de Allende, Makazole Mapimpi, Handré Pollard, Faf de Klerk, Duane Vermeulen, Franco Mostert, Siya Kolisi (capt), Marvin Orie, Eben Etzebeth, Frans Malherbe, Bongi Mbonambi, Trevor Nyakane.

Bench: Malcolm Marx, Steven Kitshoff, Vincent Koch, Marco van Staden, Kwagga Smith, Jasper Wiese, Herschel Jantjies, Damian Willemse.

England's Matthew Carley will referee the match, with Luke Pearce (England) and Graham Cooper (Australia) serving as assistant referees, while Brett Cronan (Australia) is on television match official (TMO) duty.