Wednesday, 15 January 2020 16:10

Rugby World Cup champions Springboks have been nominated by over 1,000 global sports media for the Laureus World Team of the Year accolade at the 20th anniversary Laureus World Sports Awards.

Springboks who won the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan, will be up against tough competition from Jürgen Klopp’s Champions League-winning Liverpool side, the USA women's football team who won the women’s World Cup, six-time Formula One world champions Mercedes-AMG Petronas, the first Canadian team to win the NBA Championship, the Toronto Raptors and two-time FIBA World Cup winners, Spain's men's basketball team.

The Springboks won the category at the 2008 Laureus Awards having triumphed at the 2007 World Cup the year prior. 

The Laureus World Sports Awards, which recognise sporting achievement during 2019, are the premier honours on the international sporting calendar. The winners, as voted for by the 68 members of the Laureus World Sports Academy, will be unveiled at the 2020 Laureus World Sports Awards in Berlin on February 17.

It was at the inaugural Laureus World Sports Awards in 2000 that Laureus Patron, Nelson Mandela, spoke the words which sparked the creation of the worldwide Sport for Good movement. 20 years on, these words still guide Laureus today - ‘Sport has the power to change the world; to unite people in a way little else does’. From sports stars to sports fans and the young people in Laureus Sport for Good programmes around the world: Sport Unites Us.

For more information on the Nominees and to stay updated in the build-up to the 2020 Laureus World Sports Awards, visit and follow #Laureus20 on TwitterInstagram and Facebook.