Saturday, 03 August 2019 22:20

Faf du Plessis and Dane van Niekerk, scooped the major prizes at Cricket South Africa’s Awards gala tonight.

“Faf and Dane have both had very good years both as contributors in their specific disciplines and also in the leadership qualities they bring to their two senior national sides,” CSA chief executive Thabang Moroe was quoted as saying in a CSA release.

Dale Steyn was also honoured for breaking Pollock’s record for Test wickets, and the “International Newcomer of the Year” was Rassie van der Dussen — who was among the few South Africans who had a successful World Cup.

Selected winners:


SA Men’s Cricketer of the Year: Faf du Plessis

SA Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Dané van Niekerk

Test Cricketer of the Year: Quinton de Kock

ODI Cricketer of the Year: Faf du Plessis

T20 International Cricketer of the Year: David Miller

SA Players’ Player of the Year: Faf du Plessis

SA Fans’ Player of the Year: Kagiso Rabada

International Men’s Newcomer of the Year: Rassie van der Dussen

International Women’s Newcomer of the Year: Tumi Sekhukhune

SA Women’s Players’ Player of the Year: Dane van Niekerk

Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Marizanne Kapp

Women’s T20 Cricketer of the Year: Shabnim Ismail


Coach of the Season: Enoch Nkwe

Players’ Player of the Season: Bjorn Fortuin

Newcomer of the Season: Sinethemba Qeshile

South African Cricketers’ Association Most Valuable Player: Dane Piedt