Saturday, 01 February 2020 18:46


A phenomenal start for Mzansi’s top athletes, as the second leg of the South African Grand Prix got underway at the Stellenbosch University Swimming Pool today.

Olympian Chad le Clos kicked off the year with two gold medals during the first finals session, claiming the honours in the 100m freestyle and 50m butterfly.

In the freestyle race, Le Clos touched the wall in a fast 50.76 ahead of Matthew Bosch (51.22) and Douglas Erasmus (51.39), while the butterfly event saw the 27 year old take the gold with a time of 23.98 to Clayton Jimmie’s 24.40 and Erasmus’ 24.68.

Golden girl Erin Gallagher delivered two outstanding performances in the 100m butterfly and the 50m backstroke, winning the top spots in 59.40 and 30.12, respectively, while also bagging the silver medal in the 50m freestyle in 25.74.

Dune Coetzee and Trinity Hearne completed the butterfly medal podium in 1:02.42 and 1:04.28, with Kerryn Herbst and Olivia Nel taking home the silver and bronze in the backstroke in 30.15 and 30.47, while the gold and bronze in the freestyle went to Aimee Canny and Nel in 25.63 and 26.78, respectively.

Canny was not done for the day, also scooping the gold medal in the 200m freestyle, clocking 2:01.87, followed by Rebecca Meder in 2:02.27 and Coetzee in 2:03.39, while Meder went on to win the 200m individual medley in 2:15.35 to Christin Mundell’s 2:21.68 and Tailyn Seyffert’s 2:25.38.

Mundell made her way to the medal podium on two more occasions, scooping the gold in the 100m breaststroke in 1:08.82 and the silver medal in the 800m freestyle in 9:16.77, while Hannah Pearse claimed the 200m backstroke gold medal in 2:19.66 ahead of Holly Cleworth in 2:21.65 and Alicia Enslin in 2:25.92.

Brent Szurdoki sped past the competition to win the 400m freestyle in 3:55.77, over 5secs ahead of Righardt Muller in 4:06.89 and Roberto Gomes in 4:12.94, while Hungary’s Balazs Holla won the 400m individual medley in 4:25.90, followed by Matthew Sates in 4:28.49 and Damian Mullen in 4:35.25.

Alaric and Alard Basson were the gold and silver duo in the 50m breaststroke, touching the wall in 28.51 and 28.84 with the bronze medal going to Joshua Emslie in 29.57, while Bailey Musgrave, Michael Deans and Brenden Crawford made up the 200m breaststroke medal podium in 2:19.50, 2:23.35 and 2:23.57, respectively.

In the 100m backstroke, Pieter Coetze was victorious with a time of 56.20 to Hungary’s Balazs Holla’s 58.28 and Eric Slabbert’s 59.15, while the gold in the 200m butterfly went to Ethan du Preez in 1:59.16 ahead of Hungary’s Balint Pap in 2:03.78 and Brandon Chapman in 2:08.62.

The second leg of the SA Grand Prix concludes tomorrow with the finals session beginning at 10h00.