Thursday, 12 March 2020 13:36


Bafana Bafana head coach Molefi Ntseki has named a squad of 25 players to face Sao Tome e Principe in back-to-back Cameroon 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.

The home game is scheduled for 27/28 March 2020, with the return match scheduled four days later.

These will be the third and fourth matches for South Africa in the qualifiers of the continental football showpiece scheduled for January next year.

Ntseki has made nine changes to the squad that faced Ghana and Sudan in the last qualifiers in November last year.

Returning to the Bafana Bafana fold after a long absence are goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune, midfielders Andile Jali, Thabo Matlaba and George Maluleka, while Gladwin Shitolo and Reeve Frosler are the only new caps – Brandon Peterson has also been recalled but is yet to be capped.

Frosler has played two in FIFA World Cup tournaments – Chile U17 in 2015 (under Ntseki), South Korea U20 2017 (under Thabo Senong) as well as 2019 U23 Olympic qualifiers (under David Notoane).

Also included in this squad are Teboho Mokoena and Themba Zwane.

Bafana Bafana Squad:


Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Brandon Petersen (Bidvest Wits)


Erick Mathoho, Reeve Frosler (Chiefs), Buhle Mkhwanazi, Thulani Hlatshwayo, S'fiso Hlanti (Wits), Gladwin Shitolo (Golden Arrows), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates), Mosa Lebusa (Sundowns), Thabo Matlaba (Black Leopards). 


Andile Jali, Themba Zwane (Downs), George Maluleke, Lebogang Manyama (Chiefs), Dean Furman, Teboho Mokoena (SS), Lebogang Phiri (Guigamp), Thembinkosi Lorch (Pirates), Percy Tau (Club Brugge), Thulani Serero (Al Jazira).


Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg), Bradley Grobler (Supersport United), Thabiso Kutumela (Maritzburg United).