Telling empowering stories, South Africans want to hear

Sunday, 19 November 2023 10:54

Australia won the toss and opted to bowl first in the World Cup final.

By Neil Manthorp.

Australian captain, Pat Cummins, won the toss and chose to bowl first in the World Cup final against India at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday.

Australia have retained the same starting XI which beat South Africa by three-wickets in the semifinal while India, too, are unchanged from their last match.

The teams have not been beaten in the last 18 matches combined with the hosts having won all ten of their group matches while Australia won eight consecutive matches after losing their opening brace against India and South Africa.

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wkt), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Australia: Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis (wkt), Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins (captain), Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood.