Telling empowering stories, South Africans want to hear

Friday, 05 July 2024 12:22

Sascoc names new athletes added to Team SA squad for Paris Olympics 2024.

By Lehlohonolo Lehana.

The South African Sports Confederation, Olympic and Paralympic Committee (Sascoc) provided an updated list of athletes and management that have been selected to represent Team South Africa.

The names of 27 athletes were added to the list that was previously announced.

It should be highlighted that the men's Rugby Sevens has named a preliminary squad of 16, which will be cut down to the final squad of 12 and two reserves will travel to Paris.

With the inclusion of the 16 men's Rugby Sevens players, the team size now stands at 140 across 19 codes.

This was the third such announcement; and added to the list of names are those competing in cycling, equestrian, golf, judo, skateboarding, rugby sevens (men) and rowing.

At the 2020 Tokyo Olympics (held in 2021), Team SA had 179 athletes taking part in 17 sports.

"Being chosen to represent one's country is always an honour," said SASCOC President Barry Hendricks. "However, that honour seems to be amplified when it comes to being selected for an Olympic Games. For many athletes going to Paris shortly to compete in these Games, it will be the highlight of their careers.

"What has to be remembered is that the Olympics are the ultimate multi-code Games in sport. Team SA’s athletes will compete proudly with the other nations, and each and every one of them is an ambassador for our country. Of course medals are important, and we have financial incentives in place, but this really is about showing one’s talents and being part of the Olympic family, "Hendricks added.

The CEO of SASCOC, Nozipho Jafta, said: "The team is a blend of both experienced and new talent with many team members having worn the green and gold of Team South Africa at previous Olympic Games."

"What makes us proud as an organisation is seeing 35 of the athletes currently on the Bidvest Operational Excellence (OPEX) Program qualifying to be included in the team going to Paris. We are pleased to see the investment in the support for the athletes paying off, and I am confident that we are sending a squad that will do the country proud," she said.

The latest squad has four Olympic champions in its ranks – Tatjana Smith and Chad Le Clos (swimming), Wayde van Niekerk (athletics) and John Smith (rowing), as well as another Olympic medallist in Henri Schoeman (triathlon).

That's the experience in the squad that I'm talking about and of course we also have the likes of multiple men's 100m finalist Akani Simbine, as well as our queen of the road, Gerda Steyn, adding to that experience. I am excited by the balance of the squad and by its potential in Paris," Jafta added.

The confirmed list of athletes to date selected to represent Team SA at the Paris 2024 Olympics is as follows:

NOTE: The list is subject to additions and/or withdrawals.


Men: Pieter Coetze (100m, 200m backstroke), Chad le Clos (100m butterfly), Matthew Sates (100m, 200m butterfly and 200m IM)

Women: Aimee Canny (200m freestyle), Kaylene Corbett (200m breaststroke), Erin Gallagher (100m butterfly), Rebecca Meder (200m IM), Tatjana Smith (100m, 200m breaststroke), Julia Vincent (diving, 3m springboard)


Men: Wian Roux (recurve)

Coach/Manager: Patrick Roux


Men: Luxolo Adams (200m), Elroy Galant (marathon), Gardeo Isaacs (4x400m), Shaun Maswangani (200m, 4x100m), Stephen Mokoka (marathon), Zakithi Nene (400m, 4x400m), Bradley Nkoana (4x100m), Antonie Nortje (4x400m), Lythe Pillay (400m, 4x400m), Francois Prinsloo (discus), Benjamin Richardson (200m, 4x100m), Akani Simbine (100m, 4x100m), Tshepo Tshite (1500m), Wayde van Niekerk (400m, 4x400m), Jovan van Vuuren (long jump), Bayanda Walaza (4x100m), Adriaan Wildschutt (5000m, 10000m)

Women: Marione Fourie (100mH), Zeney Geldenhuys (400mH), Rogail Joseph (400mH), Cian Oldknow (marathon), Prudence Sekgodiso (800m), Gerda Steyn (marathon), Irvette van Zyl (marathon)

Reserves: Sinesipho Dambile, Adrian Swart

Management: Jean Verster, Hezekiel Sepeng, Paul Gorries, Maritz Coetzee, Samuel Sepeng, Mike Mbambani, John Smit, Neil Cornelius


Women: Johanita Scholtz

Coach/Manager: Dillan Schaap


Men: Andrew Birkett (kayak sprint), Hamish Love more (kayak sprint)

Women: Tiffany Koch (kayak sprint), Esti Olivier (kayak sprint) 

Management: Nkosi Mzolo (coach), Janet Simpkins (manager)


Men: Ryan Gibbons (road), Jean Spies (track), Alan Hatherley (MTB), Vincent Leygonie (BMX)

Women: Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (road), Tiffany Keep (road), Candice Lill (MTB), Miyanda Maseti (BMX)

Management: Ciska du Plessis-Austin, Nicole Shuttlewortth, Benedict Moqumo, Barry Austin, Jean-Pierre Jacobs, Jean-Pierre Jacobs (coach), Tyler Klumper, Brigitte Mileson 


Men: Alexander Peternell (eventing)

Management: Ingeborg Sanne (manager), Elinor Capostagno (groom)


Men: Harry Saner (epee)

Coach/Manager: Guennadi Tychler

GOLF (4)

Men: Christiaan BezuidenhoitErik van Rooyen

Women: Ashleigh BuhaiPaula Reto

Caddies: Tertius Marais, Alex Gaugert, Tanya Paterson, Jeremy Sharpe

Management: Dornay Lombard


Women: Caitlin Rooskrantz (artistic)

Coach/Manager: Ilse Pelser (coach)


Men: Daniel Bell, Dayaan Cassiem, Mustapha Cassiem, Calvin Davis, Matthew Guise-Brown, Andrew Hobson, Keenan Horne, Gowan Jones, Ryan Julius, Tevin Kok, Zenani Kraai, Samkelo Mvimbi, Nqobile Ntuli, Bradley Sherwood, Nicholas Spooner, Jacques van Tonder

Reserves: Hendrik Kriek, Nduduza (Peabo) Lembethe

Management: Donavin George, Cheslin Chie, Siphesihle Ntuli, Devon van der Merwe

Women: Taheera Augousti, Quanita Bobbs, Stephanie Botha, Dirkie Chamberlain, Erin Christie, Kayla de Waal, Paris-Gail Isaacs, Marie Antoinette Louw, Ongeziwe Mali, Ntsopa Mokoena, Edith Molikoe, Kristen Paton, Hannah Pearce, Celia Seerane, Anelle van Deventer, Onthatile Zulu

Reserves: Aphiwe Dimba, Kayla Swarts

Management: Lynn Abrahamse, Giles Bonnet, Marcelle Keet, Wayne Lombard

JUDO (1)

Women: Geronay Whitebooi

Manager/coach: William Matike Ndoumbe


Men: John Smith (pair), Christopher Baxter (pair)

Coach/Manager: Tiago Loureiro

Women: Paige Badenhorst (single skull)

Coach/manager: Grant Dodds


Men: Christoffel GrobbelaarRyan Oosthuizen, Impi Visser, Zain Davids, Quewin Nortje, Tiaan Pretorius, Shaun Williams, Selvyn Davids, Tristan Leyds, Rosko Specman, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Shilton van Wyk, Katlego Letebele, Ronald Brown, Mfundo Ndhlovu, David Brits

Management: Philip Snyman (head coach), Ghafoer Luckan (assistant coach), Marius Schoeman, Ashley Evert

Rugby Sevens men’s squad to be cut down to the final 12 and two traveling reserves

Women: Liske Lategan, Ayanda Malinga, Shona-Leah Weston, Kemisetso Baloyi, Zintle Mpupha, Sizophila Solontsi, Mathrin Simmers, Nadine Roos, Elizabeth Janse van Rensburg, Veroeshka Grain, Marlize de Bruin, Maria Tshiremba, Byrhabdre Dolf, Shiniqwa Lamprecht, Zandile Masuku, Eloise Web

Management:  Mokgatjane Leseke, Renfred Dazel, Cecil Afrika, Obakeng Molopyane


Men: Brandon Valjalo (street)

Women: Boipelo Awuah (street), Andre Oberholzer (park)

Manager/coach: Wendy Gila


Men: Joshua Bruyns (speed climbing), Mel Janse van Rensburg (lead & boulder)

Women: Aniya Holder (speed climbing), Lauren Mukheibir (lead & boulder) Management: Dean Bruyns (manager), John-David Muller (official coach)


Men: Matthew McGillivray, Jordy Smith

Women: Sarah Ann Baum

Management: Christopher Bond (coach), Rezar De Nicker (coach, manager)


Men: Henri Schoeman, Jamie Riddle

Women: Vicky van der Merwe

Management: Riana Robertson, Lindsey Parry


Men: Nicholas Steyn (92kg)

Coach/Manager: Jan Roets.