Friday, 30 August 2019 16:03

Springbok fans came in numbers to bid farewell to the national team as they jet to Japan for the Rugby World Cup.

South Africa will be one of the first teams to arrive in Japan.

The first match of the 2019 Rugby World Cup kicks off on the 20th of September,as nations from all across the globe will compete for the Webb Ellis trophy.

The opening group stage of the competition sees 20 teams attempt to battle their way out of four pool - A,B,C and D. Each pool contains five teams and only two can advance into the knockout stages.

From there it is standard quarter-final,semi-final and final format.

The Springboks will open their campaign against New Zealand on the 21st of September 2019.