Saturday, 03 October 2020 19:24


The Green team scored three unanswered tries to beat the Gold team 25-9 in the Springbok Showdown at Newlands.

Both sides were resolute in their defence which made it difficult for any sort of attacking rhythm to be built up.

The first half was Test match like but also blighted by errors and Damian Willemse missed two further shots at goal that derailed the efforts of a Gold team that seemed to be getting the upper hand later in the half.

Gold made some strides and kept the Green team pegged in their own half but a penalty goal from Curwin Bosch to make it 18-9 was all they had to show for their efforts.

A set move late in the match allowed Green to score their third try after a lucky bounce allowed Juarno Augustus to pounce and score.

Gold could not get a consolation score and the match would finish 25-9 in favour of Green.

Springbok Green – Try: Penalty try, Siya Kolisi, Juarno Augustus. Conversions: Automatic conversion, Kade Wolhuter. Penalties: Elton Jantjies (2).
Springbok Gold – Penalties: Damian Willemse, Curwin Bosch.

Springbok Green – 15 Gianni Lombard, 14 Yaw Penxe, 13 Wandisile Simelane, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Malcolm Jaer, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Sanele Nohamba, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Arno Botha, 6 Siya Kolisi (c), 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 JD Schickerling, 3 Luan de Bruin, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Ox Nche.
Subs: 16 Schalk Erasmus, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Thomas du Toit, 19 JJ van der Mescht, 20 Juarno Augustus, 21 Junior Pokomela, 22 Embrose Papier, 23 Manie Libbok, 24  Jeremy Ward, 25 Kade Wolhuter.

Springbok Gold – 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Rosko Specman, 13 Lukhanyo Am (c), 12 Rikus Pretorius, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Nizaam Carr, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Subs: 16 Dylan Richardson, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Carlü Sadie, 19 Jason Jenkins, 20 James Venter, 21 Vincent Tshituka, 22 Ivan van Zyl, 23 Curwin Bosch, 24 Werner Kok, 25 Manuel Rass.