Sunday, 25 October 2020 20:09


Photo Credit:Getty Images.

Richard Carapaz took the overall lead from defending champion Primoz Roglic on a wet stage six of the Vuelta a Espana.

Ineos Grenadiers rider Carapaz dropped Roglic, who had led since the opening day, on the final ascent of the 146km mountain stage to Aramon Formigal.

Ion Izagirre attacked with 3km remaining to take the stage, 25 seconds ahead of Michael Woods and Rui Costa.

Britain's Hugh Carthy finished eighth to climb to second overall.

The 26-year-old EF Pro Cycling rider trails Carapaz by 18 seconds.

Ecuadorian Carapaz, who won the Giro d'Italia with Movistar last year, crossed the line 55 seconds behind Spaniard Izagirre, alongside France's David Gaudu and Spaniard Marc Soler, with Roglic a further 43 seconds back.

Jumbo-Visma's Roglic slipped to fourth overall, with Ireland's Daniel Martin's 18th-place finish moving him up to third, 20 seconds off the lead.

Stage six result:

1. Ion Izagirre (Spa/Astana) 3hrs 41mins

2. Michael Woods (Can/EF Pro Cycling) +25secs

3. Rui Costa (Por/EF Pro Cycling) same time

4. Rob Power (Aus/Sunweb) +27secs

5. Michael Valgren (Den/NTT Pro Cycling) same time

6. Guillaume Martin (Fra/Cofidis) same time

7. Mattia Cattaneo (Ita/Deceuninck Quick Step) +38secs

8. Hugh Carthy (GB/EF Pro Cycling) +48secs

9. Gorka Izagirre Insausti (Spa/Astana) +53secs

10. Sergio Luis Henao (Col/UAE Team Emirates) +55secs