Thursday, 05 November 2020 20:19


File Photo.

Belgian Jasper Philipsen held off Pascal Ackermann in an uphill sprint finish to win stage 15 of the Vuelta a Espana in tough conditions, as Primoz Roglic held on to his overall lead.

UAE Team Emirates rider Philipsen, 22, took his first Grand Tour stage win on the longest leg of this year's race.

Britain's 21-year-old Fred Wright, of Bahrain-McLaren, finished fourth.

Jumbo Visma's Roglic remains 39 seconds clear of Richard Carapaz, with Briton Hugh Carthy still third.

Carthy is eight seconds behind Ineos Grenadiers' Carapaz, with Ireland's Dan Martin a further 55 seconds back in fourth.

The hilly 230.8km stage from Mos to Puebla de Sanabria included five categorised climbs - with over 4,000 metres of climbing in all - and was ridden in testing conditions.

Stage 15 result:

1. Jasper Philipsen (Bel/UAE Team Emirates) 6hrs 22mins 36secs

2. Pascal Ackermann (Ger/Bora-Hansgrohe) same time

3. Jannik Steimle (Ger/Deceuninck-Quickstep)

4. Fred Wright (GB/Bahrain-McLaren)

5. Dion Smith (NZ/Mitchelton-Scott)

6. Reinardt Janse van Rensburg (SA/NTT Pro Cycling)

7. Magnus Cort Nielsen (Den/EF Pro Cycling)

8. Dorian Godon (Fra/AG2R la Mondiale)

9. Stan Dewulf (Bel/Lotto Soudal)

10. Michael Morkov (Den/Deceuninck-Quickstep).