Thursday, 14 January 2021 18:29

Staff Reporter.

The fixtures for the Nedbank Cup last 32 were confirmed on Thursday evening, with only teams from the top two tiers in South African football included.

"The South African Football Association have apologized to the PSL and indicated that the association will not be able to provide eight teams to participate in this season’s Nedbank Cup due to the fact that non-professional football is not continuing due to Covid-19," said the PSL in a statement.

The PSL has discussed the matter with Nedbank and agreed that the only appropriate way to deal with the matter is to restore the eight GladAfrica championship teams recently knocked out in the qualification competition to the Nedbank Cup.

SAFA has wished the PSL "good luck" for the competition.

"The 2020/21 Nedbank Cup consequently went ahead with 32 teams, being 16 DStv Premiership teams and 16 Glad Africa championship teams. All of these participating teams will be a part of this evening’s draw."

All this means that Uthongathi FC, Cape Umoya United, Bizana Pondo Chiefs, Polokwane City, Pretoria Callies, Jomo Cosmos, Cape Town All Stars and Pretoria University, initially knocked out of the competition, are reinstated, joining the other eight Championship sides, and all 16 DStv Premiership sides in Thursday’s Last 32 draw.