Sunday, 06 October 2019 08:37

Springboks have made 13 changes to their starting side to face Canada at the Rugby World Cup on Tuesday.

After losing to the All Blacks in their opener, the Springboks have claimed comfortable wins over Namibia (57-3) and Italy (49-3) in Pool B.

Newly-arrived Damian Willemse will start at full-back and He was an injury replacement for centre Jesse Kriel, but has been selected in the number 15 jersey in a back three that also includes Warrick Gelant and Sbu Nkosi on the wings.

Damian de Allende and Frans Steyn make up the midfield pairing, while Elton Jantjies takes over at fly-half and will want an improved performance after a sloppy showing in the 57-3 mauling of Namibia in their second pool match.

He will be partnered by Cobus Reinach at scrumhalf.

Captain Siya Kolisi has been retained at flank to get more game-time after an injury-ravaged season, while Kwagga Smith is on the opposite side of the scrum and Francois Louw at number eight.

Franco Mostert and RG Snyman are the two locks, Vincent Koch and Thomas du Toit pack down in the front row at prop, with Schalk Brits at hooker.


South Africa: Damian Willemse, Warrick Gelant, Damian De Allende, Frans Steyn, Sbu Nkosi, Elton Jantjies, Cobus Reinach; Thomas Du Toit, Schalk Brits, Vincent Koch, RG Snyman, Franco Mostert, Siya Kolisi, Kwagga Smith, Francois Louw.

Replacements: Malcolm Marx, Steven Kitshoff, Frans Malherbe, Eben Etzebeth, Pieter-Steph Du Toit, Herschel Jantjies, Handre Pollard, Willie Le Roux.