Thursday, 05 December 2019 19:07

Tshwane Speaker of council Katlego Mathebe has been been voted out.

No one has opposed the vote and no one abstained. About 110 councillors voted in support of the motion of no confidence against her.

EFF Tshwane treasurer Obakeng Ramabodu was appointed as the acting speaker and presided over the motion against Mathebe however DA has rejected the election of Ramabodu as acting speaker, calling it illegal.

The next process is the motion of no confidence in Mayor Stevens Mokgalapa.

DA has 93 seats, the ANC 89, the EFF 25, the Freedom Front Plus four and the ACDP, Cope and PAC one each in council. To reach a majority, at least 108 votes are needed. Together, the ANC and EFF reach 114.

The EFF’s motion related to service delivery issues, including the water crisis in parts of Tshwane and the ANC,which also submitted its own motion against Mokgalapa, did not stick around long enough to hear whether its motion would be allowed.

Meanwhile the motion of no confidence against Johannesburg Council Speaker Vasco Da Gama has failed.