Tuesday, 21 January 2020 20:56

Mineral resources and energy minister Gwede Mantashe has appointed seven new board members to the Nuclear Energy Corporation of SA (Necsa),with Eskom’s former chief nuclear officer Dave Nicholls as chair.

Necsa is the custodian of the country’s nuclear programmes, which include a medical radioisotopes business used in cancer treatment and fluorochemical manufacture. It has been technically insolvent since 2016 and has made a loss every year since 2014, with the exception of 2019, during which an adjustment of assets was made to the balance sheet.

He said it was the department’s intention to see a stable Necsa in the current financial year.

The new board will serve for three years, and will also include Senamile Masango, Joseph Shayi, Aadilah Chowan, Gregory Jerome Davids, Mashukudu James Maboa and Namane Magau.

The appointments follow the resignation of the remaining board members last week.

Necsa has been in turmoil since 2018, when former energy minister Jeff Radebe sacked the previous board, including the chairman, Dr Kelvin Kemm, the CEO, Phumzile Tshelane, and its finance director, Pam Bosman.

The statement read that this is in accordance with section 16(2) of the Nuclear Energy Act, 46 of 1999.

"The board members possess a wide range of skills in areas including nuclear regulation, nuclear analytical and calibration services, nuclear science, engineering, finance, law and corporate governance."

"The minister has further appointed Elsie Monale as a representative of the department of mineral resources and energy to the board."

"The department has commenced with a process to appoint the official representative of the department of international relations and cooperation to the board, as required by the Nuclear Energy Act," said the statement.