Wednesday, 30 March 2022 13:58

Livestream: Motions of no confidence in Ramaphosa and Cabinet.

By Lehlohonolo Lehana.

The motion of no confidence in President Cyril Ramaphosa and the motion of no confidence in his Cabinet are going ahead on this afternoon.

It will be the first motion of no confidence that Ramaphosa faces, and it has been a long time coming.

The ATM first lodged the motion with the office of the Speaker in early 2020.

A pandemic and a protracted court battle over whether it should be voted on by secret ballot have delayed it being heard. And now, the ATM won't participate in its own motion.

While the ATM's last-ditch attempt to postpone its own motion didn't get the green light from National Assembly Speaker Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula, she did accede to one of the DA's requests.

Last week, she shot down the DA's request to have its motion of no confidence in Cabinet voted on by secret ballot.

On Saturday, DA leader John Steenhuisen wrote to Mapisa-Nqakula to ask that ministers, who are MPs, not be allowed to vote in the motion and that the voting is done by roll-call, where each MP's name is read and they answer "yes" or "no".

Mapisa-Nqakula on Monday said no to the first request, as ministers who are MPs are required to account, participate and vote in matters of the National Assembly that might impact their political offices directly, and there is no provision in the Constitution excluding members of Cabinet from voting in a section 102(1) motion.

However, on Tuesday, she agreed to the roll-call voting procedure.

"According to the rules on virtual sittings, members are entitled to cast their votes either electronically, by voice or by having their votes recorded by their respective whips," reads a statement for Parliament. 

Livestream Video Below

Video Courtesy of Parliament.