Telling empowering stories, South Africans want to hear

Tuesday, 21 November 2023 10:07

Parliament wants six EFF MPs barred from attending 2024 SONA.

By Lehlohonolo Lehana.

Parliament wants all six Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) MPs barred from attending next year's State of the Nation Address (SONA).

They include Julius Malema, Floyd Shivambu, Marshall Dlamini, Mbuyiseni Ndlozi, Vuyani Pambo and Sinawo Thambo.

The disciplinary hearing of the six EFF MPs continued for a second day on Tuesday, where the initiator in the hearings made closing submissions before the powers and privileges committee.

The EFF MPs have been charged with contempt of Parliament after storming the stage during SONA in February and threatening President Cyril Ramaphosa.

The disciplinary hearing continued on Tuesday despite the EFF's absence after they abandoned the hearings on instruction of Malema.

Advocate Anton Katz, the initiator in the hearing, was questioned by members of the committee on possible sanctions that could be imposed on the EFF and its leaders.

Katz said that a message must be sent out that SONA was a serious event and the members must be suspended for ten days, which will include the day of the SONA.

"So we submit that an appropriate sanction would be for those six affected members to miss out on SONA 2024 so that an appropriate sanction, 12.5G, suspend the affected members with or without remuneration for those ten days."

Katz said it was clear that the members did not take SONA seriously.

He also told the committee that the EFF, despite them walking out on Monday, had requested to make written submissions on the merits of the case before the end of business on Tuesday.

Watch Live in the video below:

Video Courtesy of Parliament.