Wednesday, 07 October 2020 11:55

Photo Credit:Jackie Clausen. 

The Congress of South African Trade Unions (Cosatu) embark on a nationwide stay away this morning.

Cosatu has asked its more than 1.8 million members and other workers around the country to stay at home in support of the action due to the impact of the coronavirus pandemic.

The labour federation said that it will also convene socially distanced pickets and motorcades across all the nine provinces, and in many identified towns and cities.

"This decentralisation of our activities will ensure that workers are involved and are all able to participate in all over the country but also that our activities do not spread this deadly virus,"it said.

In a series of messages on social media, Cosatu said that it will be assembling in various parts of the country from 08h00.

Some of the meeting points and routes include:

  • Deputy general secretary Solly Phetoe will lead the strike in the North West from Rustenburg Taxi Rank, where workers will gather and march to the Municipality from 09h00;
  • General secretary, Bheki Ntshalintshali will lead a march in Limpopo, with workers assembling at SABC Park and marching to the Department of Labour from 08h00;
  • President Zingiwa Losi will lead the strike in Pretoria from Burgerspark from 08h00, with a motorcade leading to the National Treasury offices;
  • National treasurer Freda Oosthysen will lead the strike in Cape Town with workers gathering at Langa Multipurpose Sport Centre from 07h00 and a motorcade departing to the City Centre;
  • Deputy president Louise Thipe will lead the strike in Durban with workers gathering from 08h00 at Curries Fountain and proceeding to a park at St. Benedicts school.

While the protest action was called for by Cosatu, it is also endorsed by the Federation of Unions of South Africa (Fedusa) and the National Council of Trade Unions (Nactu) including their rival federation SAFTU, which are all represented at Nedlac.

In response to the stay away, the government has instructed all departments to enforce the principle of ‘no work, no pay’.

The Department of Public Service and Administration (DPSA) said that the strike has been declared protected under Section  77 of the Labour Relations Act and that workers in all sectors of the economy are allowed to participate.