Tuesday, 13 October 2020 19:30


The Democratic Alliance (DA) has  announced the names of candidates nominated to stand for election to Party Leadership roles at the DA elective Federal Congress on 31 October 2020 and 1 November 2020.

In just 18 days, DA Federal Congress delegates will participate in a election to select the leadership of the DA.

Nominations for the candidates standing for election opened on 7 September 2020 and closed on Saturday 10 October 2020.

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic and subsequent lockdown, the DA had to change the format of the Federal Congress and chose to proceed virtually, with delegates attending congress from their homes and also from a variety of venues being made available nationwide.

In terms of the clause 6.1.4 of the DA Federal Constitution, "The Federal Congress elects the Leader, the Federal Chairperson and the [3] Deputy Federal Chairpersons,said the DA"

Furthermore, the members of the DA Federal Council will vote for the Chairperson and two Deputy Chairpersons of Federal Council, as well as the Federal Finance Chairperson, in terms of clause of the Federal Constitution.

The DA Federal Congress Presiding Officers have announced the following candidates who have been nominated respectively:

Federal Finance Chairperson (Uncontested):

George, Dion

Deputy Chairpersons of Federal Council (Uncontested)

Masango, James

Walters, Thomas

Chairperson of Federal Council:

Moriarty, Mike

Zille, Helen

Deputy Federal Chairpersons [3]:

Bredell, Anton

Lotriet, Annelie

Nt’sekhe Refiloe

Smalle, Jacques

Federal Chairperson (Uncontested):

Meyer, Ivan

Federal Leader:

Ntuli, Mbali

Steenhuisen, John

The DA is hoping for a robust and successful Federal Congress despite the limitations of the current pandemic.