Wednesday, 14 October 2020 23:00


As of today, the cumulative number of detected COVID-19 cases in South Africa is 696 414.

This is an increase of 1 877 new cases identified since the last report.

The cumulative number of tests conducted to date is 4 458 745 with 24 793 new tests conducted since the last report.

A further  123 more COVID-19 related deaths: 44 from Eastern Cape, 14 from the Free State, 17 from KwaZulu Natal, 35 from Gauteng, 8 from North West and 5 from Western Cape.

This brings the total number of COVID-19 related deaths to 18 151.

Of the 123 deaths reported today, 10 occurred in the past 24-48 hours: 1 in the Eastern Cape, 1 in the Free State, 1 in Gauteng, 2 from Northern Cape and 5 in the Western Cape.

The recoveries now stand at 626 898 which translates to a recovery rate of 90%.

Meanwhile Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (Cogta) minister Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma has extended the national state of disaster by another month.

Government declared a national state of disaster under Section 27(1) and Section 27(2) of the Disaster Management Act on 15 March 2020 – in response to the coronavirus pandemic.

While the state of disaster was originally set to lapse on 15 June, the act provides that it can be extended by the Cogta minister by notice in the gazette for one month at a time before it lapses.

In a directive published on Wednesday (14 October), Dlamini-Zuma said that the extension takes into account the need to continue augmenting the existing legislation and contingency arrangements undertaken by organs of state to address the impact of the Covid-19 disaster.

The state of disaster is now set to lapse on 15 November.

Compiled by Lehlohonolo Lehana.